Of course we couldn't come back from vacation empty handed, so we picked up a cute stuffed sting ray for Darwin. We figured it was fitting since we did see sting rays when we went snorkeling. As soon as we walked in the door, Darwin was super excited we were back and after excited greetings (at 1am mind you) she went straight for our bags trying to find what we brought her. (Whenever we walk in the door carrying anything, she goes straight for it assuming it's for her.) As with any stuffy that has those hard plastic eyes, those were the first to go. Once those beady eyes were out of the picture she could relax. I think once we move all of Darwin's eyeball-less toys will get dumped, but for now they take up space in her toy box for her occasional destuffing.
Bed rest must be getting to Darwin. While she's been pretty good about not being a total nut and actually has been pretty mellow since last week, she must have some pent up energy that she needs to get out somehow. Too bad she's decided to take it out on her new toy she just got from Nala. This was the toy Tuesday night:
Cute pink intact piggy. Darwin loved it! She's been playing with it non-stop. This morning I woke up to a mess in the living room.... no not a poop mess, but a pink pig mess! Darwin's hate of eyeballsin new toys struck again! This time with a vengence.
Poor piggy:
{must remove the eyeballs!}
{is there something on my face?}
{mom, but look how cute i look and it makes my back feel better... really...}
I put Darwin to a test this weekend. I was going out Saturday night and decided to see if Darwin would behave if I left her out in the living room rather than lock her in the kitchen. I left a light on for her and headed out hoping and praying that she'd be good. When I got home, she was on her bed (not the couch surprisingly) and everything seemed in order. Woo hoo! Aunty Aileen won a stuffed puppy from a crane machine while we were out and so Darwin got it for passing her test. I gave it to her Saturday night. Sunday morning he was eyeball-less.
She still loved him though, and carried him around in her mouth.
Sunday afternoon, I noticed he was tail-less and couldn't remember if he had a tail before Darwin got a hold of him or not. A little while later I got my answer....
That's his tail down there... and his stuffing. At some point last night, she made a hole in its back and decided to unstuff him.
So maybe Darwin is approaching her terrible two's... or her rebellious adolescent phase... what age do puppies go through that? It must be Darwin's time being 8.5 months old and all. She's never been one to really destroy a toy... a few have worn out after playing, but nothing that she's sat and just killed. Tonight changes that. I was in the kitchen cooking dinner, and I turn around and see this:
Even as I'm sitting a few inches from her face taking pictures she continues de-stuffing the poor hippo.
The other morning we found a pair of plastic toy eyeballs on the floor, and I couldn't think of where they came from. I found out tonight, they were the hippos eyeballs and she was de-stuffing him through his eye sockets.
Poor Hippo. He was one of her toys from when she was a tiny puppy too. {De-stuffing takes a lot out of a girl... I need a break}
{You're gonna tell everyone about this aren't you...}
On a happier note, Darwin now has new puppy cousins down in California! My cousin and his girlfriend just got a brother and sister pair of golden retriever black lab puppies. World, meet Kava and Pele: